C# SQL DB ad hoc workflow with EF

From time to time my customers, or their end users, call me with a problem that requires some direct editing in the database for some application.

Previously I solved those kinds of changes with the help of the good old Sql Server Management Studio, writing some T-SQL directly. But I’m not very comfortable doing so, one reason is T-SQL is not very friendly, another reason is I dont have any history to look back to. I could write management scripts in stored procedures, but that just feels clunky.

A much better solution is to use LinqPad to query and edit the data. For a few bucks I get intellisense C# with Linq and can do whatever I need very quick.

However – I do have C# projects for my data access, and there are a few methods I sometimes like to run alongside the data changes. Plus some data maintenance comes with requirements to add features to the API.

So – my current workflow is to use an EF context inside a testproject in my Visual Studio solution. And inside that I write testclasses and methods with the maintenance code I need:

Namnlös bild

 

I like how I keep the maintenance code easily available for future reference this way. And also the closeness to the C# application code. Ideas for improvement are much easier to implement than if I’m inside SSMS.

Notice the long descriptive method name, and for the class name I just use date as it is only expected to work on this time only.

Very important – thanks for the comment Jonas J – I do need to make sure to not run the test more than once – in my code I solve that with asserts, but that might be easy to forget. So a bettersolution might be to comment out the whole code – or at least the [TestMethod] line – after running the maintenance.

2 thoughts on “C# SQL DB ad hoc workflow with EF

  1. That works fine as long as you keep those “tests” separate from other real tests associated directly with the application. Oh the horrors that can happen if you accidentally hit Ctrl R+A in the wrong solution (been there done that).

Leave a Reply

